About Citizens for Modern Transit

Where We Stand

Three decades ago CMT began its mission to introduce MetroLink to the St. Louis metropolitan area. Since its opening in 1993, ridership has exceeded expectations with an average of 66,000 people choosing MetroLink each day during summer mbrekfasttrainonths. What’s more, because of MetroLink integration with the bus system, St. Louisans once again have a public transit system competitive with automobile travel. CMT members have played key roles in the passage of funding measures for the expansion of MetroLink and other transportation improvements in the region. Our mission does not stop here but reaches far beyond the scope of the MetroLink expansion debate to rebuilding the St. Louis City, County, and Illinois neighborhoods by investing in rail transit. Rail transit is not just a way to move from point A to B but a means to energize and revitalize existing communities. In 2011, CMT official mission was changed to:

CMT leads efforts for an integrated, affordable, and convenient public transportation system with light rail expansion as the critical component that will drive economic growth to improve quality of life in the St. Louis region.

Over the years, CMT has received many awards. View KUDOS & AWARDS Citizens for Modern Transit is located at 911 Washington, Ste. 200, St. Louis, MO 63101.  314.231.7272.

Download CMT’s Info Brochure Here!

Who’s Who at CMT

CMT Executive Director

447A3107Kimberly M. Cella kcella@cmt-stl.org

Find Kim’s Bio here.

 CMT Membership & Program Director


Mallory Box

Mallory Box Bio


Board of Directors


June McAllister Fowler
BJC HealthCare


Nancy E. Cross
SEIU Local 1

James A. Fredericks
Armstrong Teasdale

Len Toenjes
AGC of Missouri




Hart Nelson
St. Louis Community College

Past Chair

Don C. Musick, III
Musick Construction Company


D’Andre Braddix
University of Missouri-St. Louis

General Counsel
Larry Katzenstein
Thompson Coburn

Board Members

Kevin Anders
Ameren Missouri

Ann Brand
St. Louis Community College

Mark Carlie
BDO USA (retired)

C.K. “Chip” Casteel
CMT Member

Stephanie Co
Beyond Housing

Renee Ducker
Transit Advocate

Gary Elliott
Eastern Missouri Laborers’ District Council

Tom Etling

Patricia Hagen

William Hartmann

Sheila Holm
AARP in St. Louis

Sheila Kimlinger

Jennifer Obertino

Taulby Roach
Roach Consulting

Reneé L. Ross, P.E. (MO, IL)

Carlo Sanfilippo
Integral Wealth

Julian Z. Schuster
Webster University

CMT Board Committees

  1. Finance Committee
    1. Carlo Sanfilippo, Chair
    2. Larry Katzenstein
    3. Nancy Cross
    4. Mark Carlie
  2. Rider Experience Committee
    1. Tom Etling, Chair
    2. D’Andre Braddix
    3. Sheila Holm
  3. Development/Membership Committee
    1. June Fowler, Chair
    2. Chip Casteel
    3. Len Toenjes
    4. Jim Fredericks
    5. Sheila Kimlinger
  4. Public Policy Committee
    1. Nancy Cross, Chair
    2. Rose Windmiller
    3. Len Toenjes
    4. Chip Casteel
    5. Hart Nelson
    6. Kevin Anders
    7. Gary Elliott
  5. TOD Committee
    1. Mark Vogl, Chair
    2. Bob Lewis
    3. John Langa
    4. Cadey Scott
    5. Kevin Flynn
    6. James Fredericks
    7. Paul Hubbman
    8. Karin Hagaman
    9. Renee Ducker
    10. Scott Schanuel
    11. Mark Carlie
  6. Nominating Committee
    1. Appointed each year
  7. Public Relations Committee
    1. Rose Windmiller
    2. Scott Stevens
  8. Transit Alliance
    1. Nancy Cross, Chair

Learn More about CMT

Join Now

As a member of CMT, you will actively help to rebuild St. Louis communities. By joining CMT, you will receive many benefits including:

  • Invitations to members-only events
  • Special recognition for larger membership donors
  • Recognition in CMT Annual Report for memberships of $250 or above
  • Free Admission to CMT Lecture Series
  • Educational Trip opportunities
  • Subscription to CMT’s bi-monthly newsletter
  • CMT’s weekly Email Updates
  • Free MetroLink tickets depending on membership levels
  • Transit Updates
  • A voice in shaping St. Louis’ neighborhoods