skip to main content

Citizens for Modern Transit Names D’Andre Braddix Chair of its Board of Directors

D’Andre Braddix, who serves as Executive Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at St. Louis Community College (STLCC), has been named Chair of Citizens for Modern Transit’s (CMT) Board of Directors. He succeeds Hart Nelson of STLCC, who has served on CMT’s Board since 2015 and in the role as Chair since 2020. Braddix was officially elected during CMT’s 39th Annual Meeting, which was held Sept. 15 at the Marriott Grand Hotel in downtown St. Louis. He will serve a two-year term.

Braddix has more than 15 years of experience in the higher education arena. In his current role at STLCC, he is responsible for providing strategic vision and direction for district-wide diversity and inclusion initiatives. He also serves as a liaison to community partners and constituents on a wide array of diversity and equity issues. Prior to joining STLCC, Braddix served as Associate Vice Provost & Dean of Students, Senior Equity Officer, and Clinical Assistant Professor of Education at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. He has been a member of CMT’s Board of Directors since 2014 and has previously served as both secretary and vice chair.

“D’Andre is passionate about ensuring equal transit access for all and has contributed significantly to furthering transit in the St. Louis region since joining CMT’s board nearly 10 years ago,” said Kimberly Cella, executive director of CMT. “We look forward to all that will be accomplished under his leadership.”

In addition to serving on the CMT Board, Braddix is currently co-chair of Missouri’s Postsecondary Equity Network, a coalition of more than a dozen higher education institutions and community partners working to eliminate equity gaps in degree completion for low-income students and students of color. Braddix also serves on the Transit Advisory Working Group (TAWG), which was established to help improve safety and security on MetroLink and restore public confidence in St. Louis’ main public transportation system.

During its annual meeting, CMT also appointed the following officers: Vice Chairs – Robert Blaine of Washington University in St. Louis, Nancy E. Cross of the City of St. Louis and Sheila Holm of AARP in St. Louis; Secretary – Ellie Glenn Harmon of BJC HealthCare; Treasurer – Brandon Flinn of Missouri and Kansas Laborers District Council; Past Chair – Hart Nelson of St. Louis Community College and At-Large – Adella D. Jones of the University of Missouri–St. Louis.


Translate »