Consider sending a quick note to members of the House/Senate Transportation Committee today!

MapofstatefundingfortransitCommittee hearings have been scheduled on the proposal of a 1 cent sales tax for transportation funding, filed by Sen. Mike Kehoe and Rep. Dave Hinson. Each hearing is set for two hours on the following dates and times:

Tuesday, Feb. 19 at 12:00 pm in House Hearing Room 7

Sen. Schatz (chair of the House Transportation Committee) has scheduled a full committee hearing on HJR 23, sponsored by Rep. Dave Hinson.

Wednesday, Feb. 20 at 8:00 am in Senate Hearing Room 1

Sen. Kehoe (chair of the Senate Transportation Committee) has scheduled a full committee hearing on his bill, SJR 16.

If you would like to attend and/or testify on the bills, please contact the offices of Rep. Dave Hinson (573) 751-0549, and/or Sen. Mike Kehoe (573) 751-2076. 

As members of CMT and friends of transit,  I am hoping you will consider dropping a note to each of the members of the committee on the importance of ensuring that the list of projects is multi-modal and not all highways/bridges.   Below is a draft letter/email and the list of committee members’ emails:

Dear  XXX:

Transportation is the key to moving Missouri forward.  Next week, you will hear testimony on the proposed one cent sales tax for transportation in Missouri in HJR 23/SJR 16.  I am writing to voice support for a multi-modal project package as a part this proposed funding. Public transit projects and other multi-modal projects must be included in the list of project priorities to be funded.

Last year Missouri transportation providers received little more than $500,000. This year the Governor recommended the same levels for public transit across the state.  Transit is the key to putting Missouri back on track!  The facts show investment in transit creates jobs.  Research has shown that every dollar invested in transit projects has a $4 return.  There are few investments at this time that can yield a 400% return. 

The current level of state support for transit is inadequate.  The State of Missouri ranks near the bottom of the list (45th) for funding of public transit.  Local funding has hit a ceiling in many areas. In order to compete for federal dollars to put our economy back on track, Missouri must make transit a priority through support and funding.  In St. Louis alone, more than 75 percent of the 223,000 daily boardings on transit are for the work commute.  Transit creates, maintains, and sustains JOBS that Missouri cannot afford to lose!

In addition, with an aging population in Missouri of residents 65 years or older, transit is the answer to meeting the needs of our seniors and disabled residents. Transit increases accessibility, connects them to their communities, and keeps them active and healthy. 

I strongly urge you to only support this proposed sales tax only if the list of projects/priorities to be funded includes all modes of transportation. I also encourage you to look at ways to go beyond this sales tax to make public transit a priority for Missouri.

Sincerely,

XXX

>> Missouri Senate Transportation & Infrastructure Committee <<

Mike Kehoe, R-District 6 (Chair)  

573-751-2076
mike.kehoe@senate.mo.gov

John Lamping, R-District 24 (Vice Chair)

573-751-2514
john.lamping@senate.mo.gov

Bob Dixon, R-District 39  

573-751-1305
bob.dixon@senate.mo.gov

Brian Munzlinger, R-District 18

573-751-3722
brian.munzlinger@senate.mo.gov

Jay Wasson, R-District 20

573-751-1503
jay.wasson@senate.mo.gov

Jason Holsman, D-District 7

573-751-6607
jason.holsman@senate.mo.gov

Ryan McKenna, D-District 22

573-751-1492
rmckenna@senate.mo.gov

>> Missouri House Transportation Committee <<

Dave Schatz-R (Chair)

573-751-6668
dave.schatz@house.mo.gov

Lincoln Hough-R (Vice Chair)

573-751-9809
lincoln.hough@house.mo.gov

Bob Burns-D

573-751-0211
bob.burns@house.mo.gov

Dave Hinson-R

573-751-0549
dave.hinson@house.mo.gov

Denny Hoskins-R  

573-751-4302
denny.hoskins@house.mo.gov

Glen Kolkmeyer-R

573-751-1462
glen.kolkmeyer@house.mo.gov

Bart Korman-R                             

573-751-2689
bart.korman@house.mo.gov

Bill Lant-R

573-751-9801
bill.lant@house.mo.gov

Karla May-D  

573-751-2198
karla.may@house.mo.gov

Tom McDonald-D

573-751-9851
tom.mcdonald@house.mo.gov

TJ McKenna-D  

573-751-4451
tj.mckenna@house.mo.gov

Don Phillips-R

573-751-3851
don.phillips@house.mo.gov

Holly Rehder-R  

573-751-5471
holly.rehder@house.mo.gov

Sheila Solon-R

573-751-8636
sheila.solon@house.mo.gov

Ed Schieffer-D

573-751-9459
ed.schieffer@house.mo.gov

Transportation Funding Proposals can be found at the links below:

http://www.house.mo.gov/billsummary.aspx?bill=HJR23&year=2013&code=R
http://www.senate.mo.gov/13info/BTS_Web/Bill.aspx?SessionType=R&BillID=17866209

Thank you in advance for your help!